Recycled Riverside Avenue Bridge links past to present

State Senator Scott Frantz and Roseann Benedict, president of the Riverside Association accepted the new Riverside Avenue Bridge plaque, which recognizes the bridge’s architectural and historical importance, at the Historical Society’s 2015 Landmark Recognition program in April. The bridge was originally built in 1871, moved to Greenwich in 1894 and rehabilitated (while maintaining it unique appearance) in 1989. It was originally part of a longer railroad span that crossed the Housatonic River between Stratford and Milford. Also listed on the National Register of Historic Places, it is the only remaining cast iron bridge in the state.

The Greenwich Historical Society’s Landmark Recognition Program has recognized and documented nearly 300 Greenwich homes and sites over the last 26 years. The program encourages preservation and draws attention to Greenwich’s rich architectural heritage. Information about all documented properties is available to the public at the Historical Society’s library and archives.

Pictured on the newly plaqued Riverside Avenue Bridge are Historical Society Executive Director Debra Mecky (right) with State Senator Scott Frantz and Roseann Benedict, President of the Riverside Association.

Pictured on the newly plaqued Riverside Avenue Bridge are Historical Society Executive Director Debra Mecky (right) with State Senator Scott Frantz and Roseann Benedict, President of the Riverside Association.

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© Hersam Acorn. All rights reserved. The Greenwich Post, 10 Corbin Drive, Floor 3, Darien, CT 06820

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress