Girl Scouts of CT elects new members to board of directors

Girl Scouts of Connecticut elected new members to its Board of Directors at its annual meeting April 26 at the Cromwell Crowne Plaza. The current Girl Scouts of Connecticut Board of Directors now includes:


o President -Caroline Sloat, Director of Scholarly Publications at the American Antiquarian Society

o 1st Vice President -Ed Lewis, Senior Managing Director, CIGNA Corporation

o 2nd Vice President -Patricia Bowen, full-time student, Masters in Social Work at University of Connecticut, expected 2016

o 3rd Vice President -Saba Shahid, student, Quinnipiac University

o Treasurer -Susan Brosseau, Supervisor at Guilmartin, DiPiro and Sokolwski, LLC

o Secretary -Aurora Daly, co-owner, Travel Daly


o Jennifer Ahern, Senior Vice President, Strategic Planning and Sales Delivery for Webster Bank

o Sousan Arafeh, Assistant Professor in the Educational Leadership and Policy Studies Department of Southern Connecticut State University

o Keshia Ashe, co-founder and CEO of Many Mentors

o Susan Bysiewicz, legal counsel at Pastore &Dailey, LLC

o Michael L. Campbell, Principal at Campbell Consulting

o Wendy Elberth, Vice President of Administration at Hartford Hospital

o Michele Etzel, Owner, CFO, and Sr. Vice President of National Graphics

o Kitsia Ferguson, Assistant Principal in the Hartford Public School system

o Virginia Giuffré, Vice President, Wealth Management Advisor, and Resident Director at Merrill Lynch

o Leslie Karen Hammond, Owner, Confident Speaker Series

o Shirley Jackson, Professor of Sociology at Southern Connecticut State University

o Andrea Kovacs, Vice President for Marketing at Albertus Magnus College

o Evelyn Mantilla, owner of Mantilla Leadership Solutions

o Liz McGovern, professional agent at Aflac Insurance

o Olivia G. Puckett, Executive Secretary for the Office of Program Review and Investigations in the Connecticut General Assembly

o Sheryl Sleeva, Group Head/ Senior Vice President, Cardholder Solutions

o Diane Smith, Anchor and Senior Producer for Program Development, CTN-Connecticut Network

Girl Members at Large:

Hannah Beilinson from Southbury

Megan Barstow from Marlborough

Angelica Padua from Farmington

Jackie Steinman from Greenwich


Mary Barneby, CEO of Girl Scouts of Connecticut

Representing all eight counties throughout the state of Connecticut, the new board consists of life-long Girl Scouts, community leaders, nonprofit and corporative executives, and many board veterans. The 28 board members will use their experiences in Girl Scouting, finance, communications, government, education, technology, marketing, and more to lead the state’s largest girl-focused organization.

“It’s incredible to have a group of diverse, skilled community leaders, executives, and dedicated Girl Scouts on our Board of Directors,” said CEO of Girl Scouts of Connecticut, Mary Barneby. “I am confident that this board will combine their skills and expertise to enhance and expand the lives of girls throughout Connecticut.

The Board of Directors is a policy-making and governance body responsible for establishing the vision for Girl Scouts of Connecticut, developing strategic priorities, and providing governance and fiscal oversight for the implementation of these priorities by the CEO and staff members. Board members must be members of the Girl Scout Movement, live by the Girl Scout Promise and Law, and work to promote Girl Scouts as the leading organization for leadership development of girls in Connecticut.

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© Hersam Acorn. All rights reserved. The Greenwich Post, 10 Corbin Drive, Floor 3, Darien, CT 06820

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress