U.S. Attorney’s Office recognizes Greenwich police efforts

The United States Attorney’s Office for the District of Connecticut hosted its annual United States Attorney’s Office Law Enforcement Awards Ceremony June 19 in New Haven.

The ceremony at the City of New Haven’s aldermanic chambers recognized more than 160 individuals for their investigative efforts in 30 significant federal criminal prosecutions and civil cases in Connecticut, including members of the Greenwich Police Department.

The highlighted cases demonstrate the broad variety of work performed by local, state and federal law enforcement agencies in Connecticut, including the FBI, DEA, ATF, U.S. Marshals Service, U.S. Postal Inspection Service, U.S. Coast Guard, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, U.S. Department of Labor, U.S. Department of Transportation, U.S. Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Department of Defense, SIGTARP, the Connecticut State Police, Connecticut Department of Correction and Connecticut Department of Banking. More than 30 of the award recipients are members of local police departments from across Connecticut.

“Today, we proudly recognize our law enforcement partners for their exceptional work,” stated U.S. Attorney Deirdre Daly. “We are grateful for the courage and dedication they bring to the job. It is our great honor to work with them and to celebrate their accomplishments as they devote their lives to ensuring the safety and security of our communities and all those who live in our state.”

Several unit awards and special awards were also presented during the ceremony. The U.S. Attorney’s Award for Outstanding Investigator was presented to FBI Financial Analyst Elizabeth McCartney for her exceptional work on many significant financial fraud investigations.

The U.S. Attorney’s Award for Outstanding Partnership was presented to a group of local and state law enforcement officers who are assigned to various federal task forces. Award recipients include Capt. Luis Sosa of the Connecticut Department of Correction, Det. Stanford Dowling of the Bridgeport Police Department, Det. Mark Solomon of the Greenwich Police Department, Det. Francis Bellizzi of the New Britain Police Department, Officers Michael Mastropetre and Jonathan Young of the New Haven Police Department, Officer Brian Laurie of the New London Police Department, and Officer Heather Bozentko, Det. William Brevard, Sgt. Christopher Broems and Sgt. Kevin Keenan of the Stamford Police Department.

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© Hersam Acorn. All rights reserved. The Greenwich Post, 10 Corbin Drive, Floor 3, Darien, CT 06820

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress