Greenwich Chamber Players announce their 2014-15 season

The Chamber Players have announced their 2014-15 season

The Chamber Players have announced their 2014-15 season

In their 43rd season, The Chamber Players of the Greenwich Symphony Orchestra plan to continue forging ahead into new musical territory while continuing to perform many traditional pieces.

The ever-beloved Brahms, Schubert, Haydn, Dvorák, Beethoven and Saint-Saëns will be sometimes joined by a few unfamiliar composers — Schulhoff, Jongen, Foote, Panufnik and Dubois.

The November concerts are titled “Dreams and Daydreams”. Programmed are Notturno for Piano Trio in E-flat major, Op. 148, D 897, by Franz Schubert; Flute Sonata, Op. 77 by Belgian composer Joseph Jongen, best known for his organ works; Prokofiev’s String Quartet No. 1 in B minor, Op. 50; and Nocturne and Scherzo for flute and string and Quartet, by American composer Arthur Foote, one of a group of American composers known as “The Boston Six.”

March 8 to 9, 2015 will bring “Quartets from the Heart of Europe” which will feature Haydn’s String Quartet No. 64 in D major, Op. 76, No.5; Prokofiev’s String Quartet No. 13 in G major, Op. 106, as well as String Quartet No. 3, (“Paper Cuts”) by Andrezj Panufnik

Krystof Witek, violinist, who with cellist Daniel Miller chose to perform this work, states that Panufnik is considered to be one of Poland’s greatest 20th century composers. His work is well-known in Europe but is rarely performed in the U.S.

“We’re going to change that,” Mr. Witek declared recently. “We know he should be recognized here. The first 30 years of Panufnik’s compostions were lost during the Warsaw uprising in 1944, and he and his family suffered greatly under both the Nazi and Soviet regimes. Luckily for us he was able to go to England where he continued to conduct and to compose for many years.”

More Treasures Familiar and Unknown is scheduled for April 12 to 13. The familiar would be Saint-Saëns Oboe Sonata in D major, op. 166 and Beethoven’s String Trio in G major, Op. 9, No. 1.

The 20th century French organist, choir master and composer Théodore Dubois will probably be the unknown before being introduced to the Chamber Player’s audiences. Musicians consider that his work, Quintet for Oboe, Violin, Viola, Cello and Piano in F major, is a treasure to be anticipated.

In the very near future, The Chamber Players will give a free concert at the Greenwich Arts Center on Wednesday, July 16 at 7 p.m. as part of the Council’s Summer Music Program, performing music by Haydn, Medtner, Panufnik and Brahms.

The 2014-15 season Sunday afternoon concerts are at 4 p.m. at the The Round Hill Community Church, 395 Round Hill Road.

Monday evening concerts are at 7.30 p.m. at The Bruce Museum, One Museum Drive. Season subscriptions are $85. Student subscriptions are $15. Adult individual tickets are $30. Student tickets are $5.

Audiences are invited to complimentary wine and cheese receptions at each concert.

For further information, call 207-637-4725 or 203-869-2664, or visit

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© Hersam Acorn. All rights reserved. The Greenwich Post, 10 Corbin Drive, Floor 3, Darien, CT 06820

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress