Historical society celebrates town’s architectural heritage

Louise and Stephen Salzer were awarded for the Rocky Ledge 1924 building in Milbrook.

Louise and Stephen Salzer were awarded for the Rocky Ledge 1924 building in Milbrook.

This year, another selection of Greenwich buildings were recognized for their historic significance. At the Greenwich Historical Society’s 2014 Landmark Recognition Program on April 27, four homes and the Round Hill Club were honored for their contributions to the town’s architectural heritage.

Landmarks program chairman Jack Morris presented plaques to homeowners Chris and Carolyn Antonik (James Lyon House c. 1750, Byram), Jim and Lyn Hurlock (Charles Sinclair Wills House, 1907, Belle Haven), Stephen and Louise Salzer (Rocky Ledge, 1924, Milbrook) and Kenneth and Robin Kencel (James C. Rogerson House, 1929, Khakum Wood). Round Hill Club president Bill Nichols accepted the plaque on the club’s behalf.

All recipients also received customized books about their homes focusing on their unique architectural features and the history of their neighborhoods.

Roughly 170 guests attended the night, which also featured a lecture on legendary architects Cross & Cross by architect Peter Pennoyer and author Anne Walker. The pair recently released a book together on the same subject titled New York Transformed.

A group of eight Cross family descendants were also in attendance.

The event was sponsored by Northern Trust and David Ogilvy Associates with media sponsor Greenwich Magazine. The Landmark Recognition Program, which was begun by the Historical Society in 1987 as Signs of the Times, has presented plaques for 288 Greenwich sites.

Each plaqued property is professionally researched and documented, and undergoes a complete title search.

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© Hersam Acorn. All rights reserved. The Greenwich Post, 10 Corbin Drive, Floor 3, Darien, CT 06820

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress