Belle Haven Club recognized as a landmark

The town’s rich history was celebrated this past May as nearly 200 guests attended the 25th anniversary of the Greenwich Historical Society’s Landmark Recognition Program with a reception at the Belle Haven Club. Since its inception, the program has documented more than 283 historic structures in Greenwich.

Landmark Recognition chairman Jack Morris presented plaques to owners of five houses and provided some history of each at the event: the Howe-Willson House (circa 1818), home of Cindy and Bob Holland; the Alfred Bell House (1869), home of M.E. and Gudmundur Kjaernested; the John Lockhart House (1867), owned by David Ogilvy; the August S. Houghton House (1908), home of Chris and Michael Zimmerman; and the Mary C. Morrison House (1912), home of Melissa and Carney Hawks.

After a brief film on the history of Belle Haven Club produced by Amy Mooney, Historical Society chairman Davidde Strackbein recognized the Belle Haven Club (originally built in 1892 as Belle Haven Casino) as a landmark site by presenting a plaque to past commodore Lynne Smith. As a long-time supporter and historic property owner, Mr. Ogilvy also spoke about the importance of recognizing and documenting Greenwich’s historic properties.

Architect Samuel White topped off the celebration with a talk on the development of Colonial Revival architecture in America. Mr. White, a preservation specialist and great grandson of iconic American architect Stanford White, advised on the restoration of the Belle Haven Club House when it was moved and refurbished about a decade ago.

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© Hersam Acorn. All rights reserved. The Greenwich Post, 10 Corbin Drive, Floor 3, Darien, CT 06820

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress