Dunson to receive League of Women Voters’ highest honor

The League of Women Voters of Greenwich (LWVG) recently announced that its highest honor, the Mary Award, will be presented to Cheryl Dunson, in recognition of her many years of service to the Greenwich and the state organizations.

Ms. Dunson will receive the award on Wednesday, June 5, at the annual LWVG dinner at the Riverside Yacht Club.

A town resident, Ms. Dunson has been president of the League of Women Voters of Connecticut for the past three years. During her tenure, the 90th Anniversary Endowment Fund was created, the website was revamped and historic legislation, most notably Election Day registration and the abolition of the death penalty were passed in Connecticut.

Before that, also on the state level, Ms. Dunson held the position of public issues vice president. As drinking water specialist, she was responsible for the passage of drinking water legislation, the “bottle bill” and historic carbon emissions legislation.

Ms. Dunson was president of the Greenwich chapter of the league from 1996 to 1999, during which time she oversaw all aspects of the organization, including public relations, development, membership and advocacy. The Representative Town Meeting Directory was expanded during this time, the LWVG’s first website was launched and a number of highly visible advocacy and educational campaigns were introduced.

Along with her commitment to the local and state League of Women Voters organizations, Ms. Dunson has been an active part of the Greenwich Tree Conservancy, the YWCA of Greenwich, Connecticut Against Gun Violence, Greenwich Land Trust, the Selectman’s Special Task Force on composting, the Selectman’s Environmental Action Task Force and the Greenwich Commission on Aging. She has received recognition from the League of Women Voters of Connecticut with an Advocacy Award, from the Greenwich Oral History Project, the Connecticut Fund for the Environment, the Greenwich Garden Club, and a Public Service Award from the Connecticut Chapter of the American Planning Association.

Named for Mary Lou Woods and Mary Sullivan, the Mary Award is presented annually to a long-term LWVG member who has been a dedicated and active member.

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© Hersam Acorn. All rights reserved. The Greenwich Post, 10 Corbin Drive, Floor 3, Darien, CT 06820

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress